Giant map

Creation of a giant map for MM2 possible ?

pibraclab
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Registered for: 8 years 9 months

Giant map

Postby pibraclab » Tue Aug 04, 2015 3:13 pm

Hi guys !

Actually, with another modeler, we are working on a great 3D map. Initially, we had to create it for the creation of an open world game but some people who offered their help, including proposing us to include and operate 3D models with Unity, we abandoned the project. In fact, with the other modeler, we would make a mod, or rather a Megapack, including cars and a very large map for MM2.
As much I know model and import cars for MM2, so I don't know how to do map or even import them. I'm just learning via the tutorial on the forum.
I wish ask a question about map on MM2 : can i create giant map or is there a limit on the size ?

If some people are interested to join us ...

Jeremiahjobling
MM2X Occasional User
MM2X Occasional User
Registered for: 12 years 3 months
Great Britain

Postby Jeremiahjobling » Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:29 pm

I think there is a limit on a map's size, don't know exactly what it is though

sajmon14
MM2X VIP Member
MM2X VIP Member
Registered for: 16 years 2 months
Poland

Postby sajmon14 » Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:53 pm

I think the size is not a problem, but the polycount can be a problem

SuperSecret
MM2X Junior User
MM2X Junior User
Registered for: 15 years 4 months

Postby SuperSecret » Tue Aug 04, 2015 7:54 pm

Well, someone a long time ago made this track, a 900 km square, but after some (I don't remember how many) kilometers the lighting stops working correctly, so yes, extremely big maps are theoretically possible, but not practical after a certain size.
ImageAuthor of best MM2 track add-on of the year (2014) - Best Programmer (2015)
ImageBest programmer (2013 - 2014) - Best MM2 innovation of the year (2014)
ImageAuthor of best MM2 mod of the year (2013)

zoot
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Registered for: 14 years 10 months