MM2 runs FAST in Win 8.1 and 10 now

There is a patch for the broken Directdraw function

User avatar
midtown96
MM2X Junior User
MM2X Junior User
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:00 am

Postby midtown96 » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:15 am

Dgvoodoo 2.42 work for Midtown Madness 2 except, I cant see the intro videos.
Instead of an intro video, I see only a black screen but I can hear the sound. Why I only see a black screen instead of the intro videos? Is it any settings I have wrong or what is the problem?
Please help!

User avatar
BUGATTIMAN253MPH
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Postby BUGATTIMAN253MPH » Mon Oct 03, 2016 6:28 pm

Dgvoodoo 2.42 work for Midtown Madness 2 except, I cant see the intro videos.
Instead of an intro video, I see only a black screen but I can hear the sound. Why I only see a black screen instead of the intro videos? Is it any settings I have wrong or what is the problem?
Please help!
The intro plays behind the black screen, sadly there is nothing you can do to fix it.
Image
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Author of the best Midtown Madness 2 car add-on of the year
Best active member Midtown Madness 1 screenshot-er

Image
Best active member avatar
Best Midtown Madness 2 breakout of the year
Funniest active member

User avatar
midtown96
MM2X Junior User
MM2X Junior User
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:00 am

Postby midtown96 » Tue Oct 04, 2016 1:54 am

The patch which shows in the video in the link works perfect for me.

But I have also heard about people which have the problem with mm2. I tried on another pc with windows 10 and the game doesnt start. I have tried with the fix which shows in the video in the link and I have also tried dgvoodoo 2.42 and no one of the patches works. I get a message which says: Midtown Madness 2 requires dx7 or above. It works on my pc but not on the other pc. What is the problem so the game doesnt start?

User avatar
JimvanDam
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Za Netherlands! WAAHOO!

Postby JimvanDam » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:27 pm

I'm not sure if this is the same thing, but I always used to have an error code while the video sound was playing (Windows 7).
This was easily fixed by running MM2 in Windows XP compatibility mode.
I have no idea how Windows 10/8.1 will react to this, but it's worth a try.

User avatar
InF3rN0
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2013 2:00 am
Contact:

Postby InF3rN0 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 8:19 pm

Hi, I did everything and first time it worked; now when game is loading city and finishes filling the loading bar it has an error, something about memory allocator, FatalError. And now it won't let me get in to the game: every time I launch the game, the document Yikes is opening.

Does anyone know how to fix it?

Thanks. :(

I'm on Win10, HD 6800 Series (AMD)

User avatar
Kevin_Hahn
MM2X Junior User
MM2X Junior User
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 2:00 am

Postby Kevin_Hahn » Tue Jan 31, 2017 4:01 am

It sounds like you haven't installed this important patch:

https://www.mm2x.com/modules.php?name=Downl ... #dldetails

If you already have, I don't have an answer sadly.
MIDTOWN MADNESS LIVES ON

User avatar
Stangman67
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 2:00 am

Postby Stangman67 » Tue Apr 04, 2017 7:25 pm

I did that, and the game still doesn't start. The troubleshooter keeps saying "Incompatible Program."

User avatar
KingAndy
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1113
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:00 am
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

Postby KingAndy » Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:10 pm

After not playing for a long time, I faced the " Midtown Madness 2 requires dx7 or above" error message. Note I've been using version 2.45 and had never faced this problem. The solution to me was upgrading dgVoodoo to the latest version - 2.54. Fully functioning and no errors (besides the tint in menu that can still be fixed by minimizing the game).

Also, the link in the original post seems not to be working anymore. Here's the functioning link for those in need: https://dege.freeweb.hu/dgVoodoo2/dgVoodoo2.html
Image
Best active member avatar
Best active member MM1 screenshot-er
Friendliest active member

Image
Most helpful active member
Best MM2 car converter of the year
Best MM2 innovation of the year
Author of the best MM2 mod of the year
Best active user's self amatory site


Image