MM2 runs FAST in Win 8.1 and 10 now

There is a patch for the broken Directdraw function

User avatar
JimvanDam
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Za Netherlands! WAAHOO!

Postby JimvanDam » Mon May 30, 2016 5:57 pm

KingAndy:

In the "Directx" tab of dgVoodooSetup.exe, there is a "Force resolution" option.
Have you tried to enable it and set it to 1600x900 (or other resolution), and if not, did that fix the issue?

Also, I don't think MM2 can handle a higher resolution than 1600x900, but that's what I think, I might be wrong.
MM1 can be modified to run at higher resolutions ( but I don't know about MM2...
I'll keep searching in the meanwhile.

User avatar
KingAndy
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1113
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:00 am
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

Postby KingAndy » Mon May 30, 2016 6:35 pm

Yes I did, but the problem isn't fixed. :/ The game is displayed on full screen, but with a low resolution image quality.
Image
Best active member avatar
Best active member MM1 screenshot-er
Friendliest active member

Image
Most helpful active member
Best MM2 car converter of the year
Best MM2 innovation of the year
Author of the best MM2 mod of the year
Best active user's self amatory site


Image

User avatar
JimvanDam
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Za Netherlands! WAAHOO!

Postby JimvanDam » Tue May 31, 2016 7:25 pm

I installed the latest dgvoodoo (2.52), and I have the exact same problems now. It runs BAD...

After downloading version 2.5;
Extracting the zip/rar file (not sure which format it is);
Copying the 3 .dll files from the "MS"-folder into MM2's install directory;
Launching MM2;
In graphics settings, selecting dgvoodoo as renderer and setting 1600x900;
playing

It ran a whole lot better on my pc with 1600x900 resolution.
Does this fix your problem as well?

User avatar
KingAndy
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1113
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:00 am
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

Postby KingAndy » Tue May 31, 2016 7:31 pm

My pc doesn't have such resolution option avaliable... It's native resolution is 1366x768 so that might be the reason, and even setting to that max resolution the problem is still happening. I assume that's a problem related with the latest versions since I also used a 2.5- version. I'll try the 2.45 and let you know if it's working properly.

EDIT: Just tried the version 4.5 and the problem is solved! Probably a problem only existing on the later version. Aaaand I can also allow MSAA x8 to get a very clear image - once and for all got rid of all that aliasing effect! :D Now I just have to get Reshade and enjoy Midtown Madness 4... 2 I mean eheh

If I haven't sayd thanks yet, thank you for this great finding. ;)
Image
Best active member avatar
Best active member MM1 screenshot-er
Friendliest active member

Image
Most helpful active member
Best MM2 car converter of the year
Best MM2 innovation of the year
Author of the best MM2 mod of the year
Best active user's self amatory site


Image

User avatar
JimvanDam
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Za Netherlands! WAAHOO!

Postby JimvanDam » Tue May 31, 2016 9:47 pm

I am happy that it worked for you! And you are very welcome!
I also updated the post, saying 2.52 does not work.

MSAA sounds very interesting, I haven't played with that yet. Thanks!

EDIT: With the 2.52 version, did you also copy the D3D8.dll to the MM2 folder, or just the other 2 (D3DImm.dll and DDraw.dll)?
I still have to test this, and I will asap, but i think D3D8.dll messes things up. But I'm not sure yet.

EDIT 2: It's not D3D8.dll. Version 2.52 just doesn't work

User avatar
BUGATTIMAN253MPH
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Postby BUGATTIMAN253MPH » Fri Aug 19, 2016 7:07 pm

Sorry to bring this topic up again, but I have strange issues with MM2 on 10;

- Choppy framerates
- The bottom half of the screen starts flickering grey on all tracks when I'm at particular parts of the track and the camera is facing up or down or in some particular position. :?
Image
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Author of the best Midtown Madness 2 car add-on of the year
Best active member Midtown Madness 1 screenshot-er

Image
Best active member avatar
Best Midtown Madness 2 breakout of the year
Funniest active member

User avatar
KingAndy
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1113
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:00 am
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

Postby KingAndy » Fri Aug 19, 2016 8:12 pm

Which version of dgvoodoo are you using? Try one of those Jimvandam listed as functioning.

On the game settings, change the graphics processor from your graphics card to dgvoodoo or vice versa.
Image
Best active member avatar
Best active member MM1 screenshot-er
Friendliest active member

Image
Most helpful active member
Best MM2 car converter of the year
Best MM2 innovation of the year
Author of the best MM2 mod of the year
Best active user's self amatory site


Image

User avatar
BUGATTIMAN253MPH
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Postby BUGATTIMAN253MPH » Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:51 pm

I'm using version 2.45 of dgvoodoo. I did more tests, I changed graphic processor from dgvoodoo to NVIDA GeForce GTS 450 but it did not resolve the issue. In San Francisco the grey flickering on the screen happens if the camera is facing up, down or towards north.

In dgvoodoo my settings are as follows:

Image
Image
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Author of the best Midtown Madness 2 car add-on of the year
Best active member Midtown Madness 1 screenshot-er

Image
Best active member avatar
Best Midtown Madness 2 breakout of the year
Funniest active member

User avatar
JimvanDam
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Za Netherlands! WAAHOO!

Postby JimvanDam » Tue Aug 23, 2016 11:36 pm

I have a pc with Win10 now, I will test asap.

User avatar
AmirNajjar
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 2:00 am

Postby AmirNajjar » Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:28 pm

Man thanks it's working :D
And it's not buggy/glitchy :D

User avatar
JimvanDam
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Za Netherlands! WAAHOO!

Postby JimvanDam » Thu Sep 01, 2016 3:55 pm

AmirNajjar: You're welcome! It's very nice to hear that it's working! :D
BUGATTIMAN253MPH: I have set the settings to match yours and ran MM2. I had no grey flickering with the camera.

I searched a bit more and found a patcher for DirectDraw:
https://www.old-games.ru/forum/attachmen ... zip.13943/
Without dgVoodoo, MM2 + this patch worked "kind of".
Turning on the hud was still a problem and the game would freeze for a second on each car crash.
Maybe this patcher + dgVoodoo will help to run MM2 without grey flickering/other issues.

User avatar
BUGATTIMAN253MPH
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Postby BUGATTIMAN253MPH » Thu Sep 01, 2016 5:56 pm

It seems to have fixed the flickering. Thanks for the file. :D
Image
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Author of the best Midtown Madness 2 car add-on of the year
Best active member Midtown Madness 1 screenshot-er

Image
Best active member avatar
Best Midtown Madness 2 breakout of the year
Funniest active member

User avatar
JimvanDam
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Za Netherlands! WAAHOO!

Postby JimvanDam » Wed Sep 07, 2016 1:33 pm

Nice to hear that it's fixed! You're welcome 8)

User avatar
BUGATTIMAN253MPH
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:00 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Postby BUGATTIMAN253MPH » Sat Sep 17, 2016 10:06 pm

EDIT: That DirectDraw compatibility tool may have actually caused more problems for me.

- If I skip the intro too early the game freezes on the splash screen (no error), forcing me to sign out and login again. (crt+alt+delete doesn't work)

- I'm having problems with one of my addon car packs. It has 3 high-poly vehicles in it currently, but If I choose one and return to the main menu, the game will sometimes crash. If it doesn't, it crashes when I choose one of the other 2 vehicles. With one of the cars, 1 texture goes missing from the sixth color. These are not Heap Overrun errors.

Is there a way to undo the compatibility tool? If it involves re-installing DirectX, so be it.
Image
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Author of the best Midtown Madness 2 car add-on of the year
Best active member Midtown Madness 1 screenshot-er

Image
Best active member avatar
Best Midtown Madness 2 breakout of the year
Funniest active member

User avatar
JimvanDam
MM2X Newbie
MM2X Newbie
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Za Netherlands! WAAHOO!

Postby JimvanDam » Sat Sep 24, 2016 6:30 pm

The patcher updates these registry values to apply "compatibility":

On 64 bit Windows:
- [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility\midtown2]
- [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility\midtown2]

On 32 bit Windows:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility\midtown2]

So, how to undo the changes the compatibility tool made:

1. Run regedit.exe as Administrator

2. If Windows 32 bit:

Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility

There will be a key called midtown2 (a key has a folder icon)
Delete the key / folder midtown2

Done.

If Windows 64 bit:

Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility\midtown2

There will be a key called midtown2 (a key has a folder icon)
Delete the key / folder midtown2

Then go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\DirectDraw\Compatibility\midtown2

There will be another key called midtown2
Delete the key / folder midtown2

Done.