I'm new in making vid's...

matt1314
MM2X VIP Member
MM2X VIP Member
Registered for: 16 years 8 months

Fraps questions

Postby matt1314 » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:02 pm

Hi everyone.

I got now also, like dageek, the full version of Fraps. But I have few questions:

1. My first video I made, lasted 2 minutes, but it was more than 1GB large! 8O Is it possible to reduce the size?

2. When I choosed the option "Half-size", my MM2 ran with 30 FPS, it ran smooth, but the videos result was very low. When I choosed "Full-size", my MM2 ran with 16 and lower FPS, and it slowed down my game a little bit, so it didn't run smooth, but the videos result was very high. Is it possible that the video quality stays high, but doesn't slow down my game? And which setting are optimal for normal recording with Fraps for MM2?

Thanks for your help. :D

Silent1Unknown
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Registered for: 15 years 11 months

Postby Silent1Unknown » Sun Jan 25, 2009 7:33 pm

Lower FPS and lower resolution will bother gameplay the least. Mine is set to 30 FPS and half-size (320x240) and it still slows down the game. My computer is not so good. So it also depends on your PC system.

Ofcourse, when you record any video, the recording software doesnt have time to encode, process or compress the video. Thats why the file size is so large. You will need extra software to encode and convert your recording to another format. I use AnyVideoConverter (Not Professional version) because it is free and also conversion to many formats and its easy to use. Just add video, select conversion type (I think customized MP4 with H.264 encoder is the most efficient) and click "encode". You will see your file size is GREATLY reduced. Upload this to YouTube.

Image BEST MM2 SCREENSHOOTER | BEST PHOTOSHOPPER
Image MOST FRIENDLY MEMBER | BEST MM2 WEBSITE

HummersRock
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Registered for: 17 years 4 months

Re: Fraps questions