TEXmanager and mipmaps

User avatar
KingAndy
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1113
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:00 am
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

TEXmanager and mipmaps

Postby KingAndy » Wed Aug 05, 2015 7:26 pm

Here's a quick question: when using TEXmanager to convert .tga textures into .tex textures, does the mipmap option changes anything in the textures quality? I mean, if I select just one mipmap for a texture, it will have lower quality than if I choose the max number of mipmaps?
Image
Best active member avatar
Best active member MM1 screenshot-er
Friendliest active member

Image
Most helpful active member
Best MM2 car converter of the year
Best MM2 innovation of the year
Author of the best MM2 mod of the year
Best active user's self amatory site


Image

User avatar
Franch88
MM2X Admin
MM2X Admin
Posts: 15707
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 2:00 am
Location: Italy
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

Postby Franch88 » Wed Aug 05, 2015 8:51 pm

The mipmap levels for the textures in TEX format is really important, otherwise there will be visibility issues in-game if the lower ones are missing and vice versa. So, check always all the low, medium and high levels, or until you can in case of small textures.
Fiat 500 = Italian motorization. Franch88, MM2 eXtreme forum and website Administrator.
|Franch88's MM2 Releases|

User avatar
BIGzee
MM2X Active User
MM2X Active User
Posts: 495
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 1:00 am
Location: You're standing on it.
Contact:

Postby BIGzee » Wed Aug 05, 2015 8:51 pm

I thought MM2 didn't support mipmaps :roll:. And in the HD mod, was it necessary to convert .tga files to .tex, inorder to work ?
ImageImage
Keanu Reeves chose the Red pill and started bending spoons. I chose ZModeler 1.07b and made my own Matrix.

User avatar
KingAndy
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1113
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 2:00 am
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

Postby KingAndy » Wed Aug 05, 2015 9:07 pm

Thanks Franch, I wasn't sure about that so I'll convert everything to .tex and keep the mipmaps at max.
I thought MM2 didn't support mipmaps :roll:. And in the HD mod, was it necessary to convert .tga files to .tex, inorder to work ?
My mod replaces some of the default textures, and in this case they must be in .tex format. MM2 engine can recognize .tex, .tga and .bmp files but in case 2 textures with the same name but different formats exist on the directory, it will prefer the format according to the order I said them (first .tex, if not then .tga, if not then .bmp). I guess this was found by Aaro4130.

A lot of textures of it are new textures, but I decided to make everything as .tex.
Image
Best active member avatar
Best active member MM1 screenshot-er
Friendliest active member

Image
Most helpful active member
Best MM2 car converter of the year
Best MM2 innovation of the year
Author of the best MM2 mod of the year
Best active user's self amatory site


Image

aaro4130
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Posts: 2403
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Canada
Likes received: 1 like

Postby aaro4130 » Thu Apr 14, 2016 11:52 pm

I know this is old, but I missed it. TEX naturally supports mipmaps, theoretically any amount of them. Also, like KingAndy said, MM2 searches for textures in the order of TEX>TGA>BMP>ACT/RAW
[img]https://i61.tinypic.com/25zrngo.jpg[/img][color=white]
- Most creative active member
- Most smart active member
- Best MM2 innovation of the year
- Best programmer

[img]https://i60.tinypic.com/2m4c2h5.jpg[/img]
- Most helpful active member[/color]