Midnight Club London

Porting L01 to MM2

User avatar
FXANBSS
MM2X Active User
MM2X Active User
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:00 am
Location: Midtown Club, Discord
Likes received: 2 likes

Postby FXANBSS » Sun May 08, 2016 7:52 am

I knew this was going to be as unstable as New York.

User avatar
COOLGUY200
MM2X Active User
MM2X Active User
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:00 am
Location: tiny shed in detroit

Postby COOLGUY200 » Sun May 08, 2016 8:53 am

I knew this was going to be as unstable as New York.
:roll:

Midtown Madness 2 is an unstable game, not the London map. I think the first game is much more stable than the second!

Dunno why but decided to write down my experience. :borracho:

Only works in 800x600. But it seems to be that dgVoodoo makes it run at my normal resolution, so whatever. No mod seems to be compatible, even traffic mods. Got to drive sajmon14's Viper through London though. Plowed through traffic while blaring Lunatic Calm like it was Test Drive 6. Exploring this version of London was like a new way to see it. Even for a beta test this was pretty freaking entertaining.

Image

Until I hit an invisible wall of death. You see, this was the image I was going to show you guys, then proceeding to tell how no problems happened.
But when I took a left, went down a street for a second, then I took a left again, I had ended my nice drive with the static moaning of the car's engine, a odd pedestrian that was close to the camera in the left corner, another error message i'll never understand, and a confused person doing the good ol' Ctrl+Alt+Delete. Talk about a heap of trouble.


In short, a road nearby Royal Albert Hall crashed my game.

In spite of that odd bug, this is still pretty freaking epic. Might not be as bright as MM2's London, but it has alot of things to do. Tunnels and alleyways are much more common here than in MM2, as well as areas to jump from. Good work so far. :D
Image

User avatar
sajmon14
MM2X VIP Member
MM2X VIP Member
Posts: 5314
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:00 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Postby sajmon14 » Sun May 08, 2016 8:48 pm

Just run it on unmodded MM2 and it will work fine
[img][/img]

[color=green]My website
http://mm2m.tnb.pl/[/color]

aaro4130
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 10:00 am
Location: Canada
Likes received: 1 like

Postby aaro4130 » Mon May 09, 2016 9:46 am

Just run it on unmodded MM2 and it will work fine
320x480 : stock mm2
-software rendering = crash
-hardware rendering = crash
-hardware t&l = crash

640x480 : stock mm2
-software rendering = crash
-hardware rendering = crash
-hardware t&l = crash

320x480 : extended heap mm2
-software rendering = crash
-hardware rendering = crash
-hardware t&l = crash

640x480 : extended heap mm2
-software rendering = crash
-hardware rendering = crash
-hardware t&l = crash
[img]http://i61.tinypic.com/25zrngo.jpg[/img][color=white]
- Most creative active member
- Most smart active member
- Best MM2 innovation of the year
- Best programmer

[img]http://i60.tinypic.com/2m4c2h5.jpg[/img]
- Most helpful active member[/color]

User avatar
sajmon14
MM2X VIP Member
MM2X VIP Member
Posts: 5314
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:00 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Postby sajmon14 » Mon May 09, 2016 9:22 pm

I run it on a really big resolution and it works
[img][/img]

[color=green]My website
http://mm2m.tnb.pl/[/color]

User avatar
COOLGUY200
MM2X Active User
MM2X Active User
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:00 am
Location: tiny shed in detroit

Postby COOLGUY200 » Mon May 09, 2016 9:51 pm

Just run it on unmodded MM2 and it will work fine
320x480 : stock mm2
-software rendering = crash
-hardware rendering = crash
-hardware t&l = crash

640x480 : stock mm2
-software rendering = crash
-hardware rendering = crash
-hardware t&l = crash

320x480 : extended heap mm2
-software rendering = crash
-hardware rendering = crash
-hardware t&l = crash

640x480 : extended heap mm2
-software rendering = crash
-hardware rendering = crash
-hardware t&l = crash
What about 800x600?
Image

User avatar
RacingFreak
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1061
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:00 am
Location: Taiwan

Postby RacingFreak » Tue May 10, 2016 12:02 am

Update: l01.ar (replace the old one with this)

I have identified many problems with the latest release, so these should have been hopefully fixed now.
Image

User avatar
sajmon14
MM2X VIP Member
MM2X VIP Member
Posts: 5314
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:00 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Postby sajmon14 » Tue May 10, 2016 3:00 am

This one works better, thanks :D

Image
[img][/img]

[color=green]My website
http://mm2m.tnb.pl/[/color]

User avatar
Franch88
MM2X Admin
MM2X Admin
Posts: 15645
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 10:00 am
Location: Italy
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

Postby Franch88 » Tue May 10, 2016 6:22 am

Thanks for the new file, now the city is working perfectly also for me as I always play the game. :D And it's very good see that there can't be too much chances of get a game crash during the city loading because of too much polygons to manage. :wink:
I've noticed some other small issues, good to take note and add with the fixes to do. There are some grassy surfaces without effects for the wheels, and is better add the white smoke one for asphalt and concrete surfaces. It's also better change the breakable props sounds with the proper ones.
Fiat 500 = Italian motorization. Franch88, MM2 eXtreme forum and website Administrator.
|Franch88's MM2 Releases|

User avatar
Jimmy89
MM2X Junior User
MM2X Junior User
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:00 am
Location: France

Postby Jimmy89 » Sun May 22, 2016 11:46 am

I've noticed some bugs, which cause a game crash, the building that can be driven inside (there are some).
Otherwise, it's great, no problems during loading, unlike New York City.

User avatar
COOLGUY200
MM2X Active User
MM2X Active User
Posts: 586
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:00 am
Location: tiny shed in detroit

Postby COOLGUY200 » Tue May 24, 2016 2:28 am

I've noticed some bugs, which cause a game crash, the building that can be driven inside (there are some).
Otherwise, it's great, no problems during loading, unlike New York City.


What do you mean? There's a weird stock exchange place you can drive through...I hope you don't mean those buildings.
Image

User avatar
Jimmy89
MM2X Junior User
MM2X Junior User
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:00 am
Location: France

Postby Jimmy89 » Tue May 24, 2016 5:46 am

I've noticed some bugs, which cause a game crash, the building that can be driven inside (there are some).
Otherwise, it's great, no problems during loading, unlike New York City.


What do you mean? There's a weird stock exchange place you can drive through...I hope you don't mean those buildings.
Well, I believe it was the railway station, I can be mistaken though.
But it also crashed when I tried to go into the few buildings usually purple on map (meaning there's driving possible inside).

User avatar
HummersRock
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Posts: 2152
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Floating in The Land of Colours
Contact:

Postby HummersRock » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:30 am

Wow, great work guys. I'll have to try this out.
[url=http://bit.ly/znpgtp][color=deepskyblue]My MM2 Creations[/color][/url] | [url=http://bit.ly/o9c3][color=red]My MM2 Youtube[/color][/url] | [url=http://bit.ly/yfqjeq][color=green]My DeviantArt[/color][/url]

User avatar
Jimmy89
MM2X Junior User
MM2X Junior User
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 10:00 am
Location: France

Postby Jimmy89 » Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:17 am

Any update on this one?

User avatar
RacingFreak
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1061
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:00 am
Location: Taiwan

Postby RacingFreak » Sat Jan 28, 2017 4:48 am

Yup. A lot.

Track is now almost 100% done, with few little things needing polishing.

Here's a video from today during a Multiplayer CnR session, made by RM76:
Image


Return to “Midtown Madness Tracks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron