Unofficial Patch Work

User avatar
mm2mm1fan
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1208
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 10:00 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby mm2mm1fan » Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:20 pm

Kind of stupid that they artificially limited their engine to 16 bit. Oh well.
Unless it was due hardware limitations of PC's back in the day

User avatar
dummiesboy
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Posts: 2425
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:00 am
Location: ´Murca

Postby dummiesboy » Mon Aug 01, 2016 2:34 pm

Well 32 bit may have been steep for alot of PCs and monitors back in the day, but just about every other game from that period came with an option for 16 bit or 32 bit.

Midtown Madness is unique in the fact that it only allows you to use 16 bit, even though it also has support for 32 bit. This patch swaps that around, so now it will only do 32 bit.
Image

User avatar
Franch88
MM2X Admin
MM2X Admin
Posts: 15645
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 10:00 am
Location: Italy
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

Postby Franch88 » Tue Aug 02, 2016 5:11 am

What you've discovered is very bad, as MM2 could have a 32 bit graphic since its releasing. Many games of those days had both the colors depth choice... Anyway, it's very good to know that's already implemented and now you've been able to enable it. :D

I propose this again, since it's really important concerning vehicle add-ons creating. What about remove or increase the characters limits for the vehicle colors in the .info file and for the basenames in the vehtypes.csv file?
Fiat 500 = Italian motorization. Franch88, MM2 eXtreme forum and website Administrator.
|Franch88's MM2 Releases|

User avatar
dummiesboy
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Posts: 2425
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:00 am
Location: ´Murca

Postby dummiesboy » Sun Aug 07, 2016 4:05 pm

Similar to the last paintjob fix with traffic cars, we now finally have all 3 parked car models showing up in the game. :)
Image
Image

User avatar
carfan1061
MM2X Occasional User
MM2X Occasional User
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun May 22, 2016 10:00 am
Location: England

Postby carfan1061 » Sun Aug 07, 2016 10:27 pm

Can you fix the problem with a city that doesn't use traffic and load it with traffic that game crashes.Its really annoying when that happenes
Image

User avatar
sajmon14
MM2X VIP Member
MM2X VIP Member
Posts: 5314
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 10:00 am
Location: Poland
Contact:

Postby sajmon14 » Mon Aug 08, 2016 12:57 am

Awesome work :)
[img][/img]

[color=green]My website
http://mm2m.tnb.pl/[/color]

User avatar
Diatosta
MM2X Active User
MM2X Active User
Posts: 783
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 10:00 am
Location: Portugal? Maybe...
Contact:

Postby Diatosta » Mon Aug 08, 2016 2:53 am

Ramblings from a mad man
Drugs. Not even once
[color=white]MM2 lover! Yeah![/color]
[color=white]diatosta.pt[/color]

[color=white]Also, gotta love when people don't publicize their work or ask for support in their signatures. Also don't forget to check my unfinished mods and donate to my Paypal

Also, one of my trucks[/color]
[img][/img]

User avatar
Fuyunyan
MM2X Occasional User
MM2X Occasional User
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:00 am
Location: Farbanti, Erusea

Postby Fuyunyan » Sat Aug 13, 2016 12:26 pm

Awesome now that the SUV is there, and finally 32 bit graphics. 8O :D

aaro4130
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 10:00 am
Location: Canada
Likes received: 1 like

Postby aaro4130 » Sat Aug 13, 2016 5:49 pm

Can you fix the problem with a city that doesn't use traffic and load it with traffic that game crashes.Its really annoying when that happenes
I've never had that happen
[img]http://i61.tinypic.com/25zrngo.jpg[/img][color=white]
- Most creative active member
- Most smart active member
- Best MM2 innovation of the year
- Best programmer

[img]http://i60.tinypic.com/2m4c2h5.jpg[/img]
- Most helpful active member[/color]

User avatar
FXANBSS
MM2X Active User
MM2X Active User
Posts: 679
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 10:00 am
Location: Midtown Club, Discord
Likes received: 2 likes

Postby FXANBSS » Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:30 am

Can you fix the problem with a city that doesn't use traffic and load it with traffic that game crashes.Its really annoying when that happenes
I've never had that happen
As far as i know, the only way to do that is to install classic madness, but only install the cities, not the core mod, so the game will crash if you play that city with traffic, because of a certain traffic car that doesn't exist and it requires the core file to work.

User avatar
BUGATTIMAN253MPH
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:00 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Postby BUGATTIMAN253MPH » Sun Aug 14, 2016 7:51 am

Good job boys! I'm really looking forward to these fixes. :D
Image
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Author of the best Midtown Madness 2 car add-on of the year
Best active member Midtown Madness 1 screenshot-er

Image
Best active member avatar
Best Midtown Madness 2 breakout of the year
Funniest active member

User avatar
dummiesboy
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Posts: 2425
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:00 am
Location: ´Murca

Postby dummiesboy » Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:05 am

As far as i know, the only way to do that is to install classic madness, but only install the cities, not the core mod, so the game will crash if you play that city with traffic, because of a certain traffic car that doesn't exist and it requires the core file to work.
That's kind of an understandable crash though. The only alternative I could think of is to have a default traffic car take its place when the model can't be found, but that would likely be alot of coding work.
Image

User avatar
Franch88
MM2X Admin
MM2X Admin
Posts: 15645
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 10:00 am
Location: Italy
Likes received: 1 like
Contact:

Postby Franch88 » Mon Aug 15, 2016 5:11 am

Thanks for your explaining of that, FXANBSS. :wink:
I agree with Dummiesboy. Actually, it's a really rare issue to see happening by accident and casually, that's you who has to make it happen on purpose. Except that case with the traffic of the Pleasantville city from Classic Madness mod, with an added sidebike model used only in its traffic, I guess that there's no other.
Fiat 500 = Italian motorization. Franch88, MM2 eXtreme forum and website Administrator.
|Franch88's MM2 Releases|

User avatar
HummersRock
MM2X Super Active User
MM2X Super Active User
Posts: 2152
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 10:00 am
Location: Floating in The Land of Colours
Contact:

Postby HummersRock » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:09 am

All that sounds great. Cool to see it in 32bit now as well. Keep up the great work guys. :)
[url=http://bit.ly/znpgtp][color=deepskyblue]My MM2 Creations[/color][/url] | [url=http://bit.ly/o9c3][color=red]My MM2 Youtube[/color][/url] | [url=http://bit.ly/yfqjeq][color=green]My DeviantArt[/color][/url]

User avatar
BUGATTIMAN253MPH
MM2X Very Active User
MM2X Very Active User
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:00 am
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Postby BUGATTIMAN253MPH » Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:08 am

Would it be possible to add support for reflections on breakables, wheels and fenders?
Image
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Best Midtown Madness 2 car converter of the year
Author of the best Midtown Madness 2 car add-on of the year
Best active member Midtown Madness 1 screenshot-er

Image
Best active member avatar
Best Midtown Madness 2 breakout of the year
Funniest active member


Return to “Midtown Madness General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest